Duke Ellington – Jazz Party (200g AP Vinyl LP)


Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Tape / Plated and Pressed at Quality Record Pressings

Originally intended as a studio booking where Duke Ellington was to record some recent compositions upon he and his band’s return from a live stint in Florida, the date soon grew exponentially into an all-out welcome home party of Ellington admirers. Issued on Columbia in 1959, Jazz Party In Stereo is distinct in the Duke Ellington oeuvre in that not only does it feature an extremely rare appearance by Dizzy Gillespie (in addition to Jimmy RushingJohnny Hodges, Clark Terry and Paul Gonsalves), but it also includes two numbers with a total of nine percussionists in all on various instruments such as timpani, vibes, marimbas and xylophone. A party indeed and by the looks of the historic roll call, everybody was invited!

Jimmy Woode (bass)
Sam Woodyard (drums)
Robert M. Rosengarden, Bradley Spinney, Chauncey Morehouse, Elden C. Bailey, George Gaber, Harry Breuer, Milton Schlesinger, Morris Goldenberg, Walter E. Rosenberger (percussion)
Duke Ellington, Jimmy Jones (piano)
Harry Carney, Jimmy Hamilton, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonzalves, Russell Procope (saxophone)
Britt Woodman, John Sanders, Quentin Jackson (trombone)
Andres Ford, Cat Anderson, Clark Terry, Dizzy Gillespie, Shorty Baker, Ray Nance (trumpet)
Jimmy Rushing (vocals)

  1. Malletoba Spank
  2. Red Garter
  3. Red Shoes
  4. Red Carpet
  5. Ready, Go!
  6. U.M.M.G
  7. All of Me
  8. Tympertubably Blue
  9. Hello Little Girl

In stock