Bill Evans Trio – Bill Evans at Town Hall Volume One: 2022 (AS) (180g Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Bill Evans at Town Hall Volume One Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes, Pressed at QRP, and Housed in Stoughton Gatefold Jacket

From Bill Evans’ first-ever performance at a concert hall in New York City. Featuring the sensitive accompaniment of Chuck Israelson bass and Arnold Wise on drums. Includes a 13-minute solo suite dedicated to the memory of Bill’s father who had only recently passed at the time of the recording.

“Of pianist Bill Evans’ many live albums, at Town Hall Volume One has always been among his most delicate and elegant,” writes Marc Myers for JazzWax. “Evans’ playing is taut and graceful, with lovely long improvisational lines and a snappy, fluid attack on the keyboard. The mix of standards and two originals – one was a suite in memory of his’ father, who died just three days earlier – also were neatly selected and assembled.”

This all-analog 180g vinyl LP reissue was mastered from the original analog tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound, pressed at QRP, and comes housed in a Stoughton tip-on gatefold jacket.

Bil Evans, piano & keyboards
Chuck Israels, bass
Arnold Wide, drums

Ernie Royal, Clark Terry and Bill Berry – trumpets
Bob Brookmeyer, Quentin Jackson and Bill Watrous – trombone
Bob Northern – French horn
Jerry Dodgion, George Marge, Eddie Daniels, Frank Petrovsky and Marvin Holladay – reeds

  1. I Should Care
  2. Spring Is Here
  3. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  4. Make Someone Happy
  5. Prologue
  6. Improvisation On Two Themes: Story Line – Turn Out The Stars
  7. Epilogue

Out of stock