Vince Guaraldi Trio – Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus: Expanded (180g Vinyl 3LP by Craft)


Expanded 180g Vinyl 3LP-Set includes All Analog Remaster of Original Album Plus 16 Bonus Tracks and New Liner Notes; Lacquers Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and Pressed at RTI

Celebrating the 60th anniversary of Vince Guaraldi Trio’s breakthrough, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus, this deluxe and expanded reissue offers 16 bonus tracks, including 12 previously unreleased selections, with outtakes and alternate takes of nearly every track on the album. Produced by Nick Phillips, the original album is cut from the analog master, while the bonus material was transferred from the original analog tapes by Plangent Processes and remastered by engineer Paul Blakemore. Lacquers for the 3LP edition were cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and pressed at RTI on 180-gram vinyl. The package also includes new, in-depth liner notes by jazz writer Andrew Gilbert (San Francisco Chronicle, San Jose Mercury News, KQED Arts).

Released in April 1962, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus made Guaraldi a household name – thanks, in large part, to the irresistible sounds of “Cast Your Fate to the Wind.” Released as the B-side to “Samba de Orpheus,” the instrumental track was embraced by DJs across the country, eventually landing at No. 22 on the Billboard Hot 100 and No. 9 on the Easy Listening chart. In 1963, “Cast Your Fate to the Wind” earned Guaraldi a Grammy for Best Original Jazz Composition. Over the years, the track would be covered by a range of artists, including Quincy Jones, George Benson, Allen Toussaint, the James Gang, and Mel Tormé (who added lyrics).

Perhaps most famously, however, the tune caught the ear of television producer Lee Mendelson, who was searching for a musician to score a documentary about Peanuts creator, Charles M. Schulz, and his popular comic strip. While the film was never released, Guaraldi recorded the soundtrack to A Charlie Brown Christmas the following year – creating one of the best-selling jazz and holiday albums of all time in the process. Before his sudden death in 1976, Guaraldi would score more than a dozen Peanuts animated specials. Yet, the pianist’s musical legacy extends far beyond those enduring soundtracks, and Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus is a prime example of that.


  1. Samba de Orfeu
  2. Manhã de Carnaval
  3. O Nosso Amor
  4. Felicidade
  5. Cast Your Fate To The Wind
  6. Moon River
  7. Alma-Ville
  8. Since I Fell For You,


  1. Samba de Orfeu [Short Version: Take 1, Set 3]
  2. Samba de Orfeu [Long Version: Take 1, Set 3]
  3. Manhã de Carnaval [Take 1, Set 3]
  4. Manhã de Carnaval [Take 2, Set 3]
  5. O Nosso Amor [Take 1, Set 3]
  6. O Nosso Amor [Take 2, Set 4]
  7. Felicidade [Take 2, Set 2]
  8. Felicidade [Take 4, Set 3]


  1. Cast Your Fate To The Wind [Take 2]
  2. Cast Your Fate To The Wind [Take 3]
  3. Cast Your Fate To The Wind [Take 5]
  4. Alma-Ville [Take 2]
  5. Since I Fell For You [Take 3]
  6. Jitterbug Waltz [Take 1]
  7. Jitterbug Waltz [Take 1A]
  8. Jitterbug Waltz [Take 2A]

Out of stock

SKU: 888072424500 Categories: , , , , ,