Stanley Turrentine – Rough ‘N Tumble: Blue Note Tone Poet Series (180g Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Stanley Turrentine’s Rough ‘N Tumble Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley

Stanley Turrentine’s 1966 soul jazz classic Rough ‘N Tumble finds a deep and bluesy groove that doesn’t let up from start to finish. Joining Turrentine are the crème de la crème: Blue Mitchell on trumpet, Pepper Adams on baritone saxophone, James Spaulding on alto saxophone, McCoy Tyner on piano, Grant Green on guitar, Bob Cranshaw on bass, and Mickey Roker on drums. Highlights include soulful covers of Ray Charles’ “What Could I Do Without You,” Burt Bacharach’s “Walk On By,” and “Feeling Good,” which Nina Simone had recorded the year before.

Stanley Turrentine, tenor saxophone
Grant Green, guitar
McCoy Tyner, piano
Blue Mitchell, trumpet
James Spaulding, alto saxophone
Pepper Adams, baritone saxophone
Bob Cranshaw, bass
Mickey Roker, drums

• Blue Note Tone Poet Series
• Curated by Music Matters co-founder Joe Harley
• Audiophile-quality 180g vinyl LP
• All-analog mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray
• Manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated
• Deluxe gatefold packaging

  1. And Satisfy
  2. What Could I Do Without You
  3. Feeling Good
  4. Shake
  5. Walk On By
  6. Baptismal

Out of stock

SKU: 602435382180 Categories: , , ,