Sonny Clark – My Conception: Blue Note Tone Poet Series (180g Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Sonny Clark’s My Conception Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley

The soulful and elegant pianist Sonny Clark brings his A-game to My Conception, a program of all-Clark originals recorded in 1959 but not released until 1979. Joining the pianist are a cast of hard bop masters including Hank Mobley on tenor saxophone, Donald Byrd on trumpet, Paul Chambers on bass, and Art Blakey on drums. Highlights from this session include the lead-off track “Junka,” the fiery brilliance of “Minor Meeting,” and Mobley’s sublime soloing on “Royal Flush.

Sonny Clark, piano
Hank Mobley, tenor saxophone
Donald Byrd, trumpet
Paul Chambers, bass
Art Blakey, drums

• Blue Note Tone Poet Series
• Curated by Music Matters co-founder Joe Harley
• Audiophile-quality 180g vinyl LP
• All-analog mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray
• Manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated
• Deluxe gatefold jacket packaging

  1. Junka
  2. Blues Blue
  3. Minor Meeting
  4. Royal Flush
  5. Some Clark Bars
  6. My Conception

Out of stock

SKU: 602435268248 Categories: , , ,