Louis Armstrong and Oscar Peterson – Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson (Verve AS Series 180g Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes, Pressed at QRP, Housed in a Stoughton Tip-On Gatefold Jacket

Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson is a brilliant undertaking in which Verve’s legendary “house pianist” encountered one of jazz’s most revered giants. And this all-analog Verve reissue – mastered from the original analog tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound, pressed at QRP, and housed in a Stoughton tip-on gatefold jacket – makes the 1959 set come alive like never before.

A significant part of Peterson’s genius relates to his ability to be an exceptional pianist and leader while also being a perfect accompanist when the circumstance demands. In a situation like this, he is both. Armstrong remains not only one of the most innovative, singular, fascinating, and beloved artists of the 20th century, but also one of the most generous in the way he embraced and stimulated his collaborators.

Backed by the Oscar Peterson Trio – bassist Ray Brown and guitarist Herb Ellis, and augmented by frequent fourth member Louis Bellson on drums – these peerless heavyweights created an album that is utterly compelling, radiantly jubilant, and consummate in artistry. The musicians provided the setting for the jewel that is Pops, with Peterson perfectly embellishing every phrase Armstrong sings or plays. The focus here is primarily upon Armstrong’s totally personal and thoroughly captivating vocal style, with his occasional trumpet solos limited in all but one case to a single chorus.

Essentially culled from the Great American Song Book – Cole Porter, the Gershwins and Harold Arlen among the songwriters – the pieces range from poignant ballads and blues to effusive easy-grooved swing. Each song is an exquisitely crafted gem that will warm the heart and enrich the soul.

Louis Armstrong, vocals & trumpet
Oscar Peterson, piano
Herb Ellis, guitar
Ray Brown, bass
Louis Bellson, drums

• All-analog 180g vinyl LP
• Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises
• Two monthly releases highlighting Verve’s historic and best jazz records
• Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the original analog tapes
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jacket

  1. That Old Feeling
  2. Let’s Fall In Love
  3. I’ll Never Be The Same
  4. Blues In The Night
  5. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  6. I Was Doing All Right
  7. What’s New
  8. Moon Song
  9. Just One Of Those Things
  10. There’s No You
  11. You Go To My Head
  12. Sweet Lorraine

In stock

SKU: 602508687853 Categories: , , ,