L. Konitz, G. Mulligan – Lee Konitz Plays With the Gerry Mulligan Quartet: Tone Poet (180g Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Lee Konitz Plays With The Gerry Mulligan Quartet Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley

Three giants of West Coast Jazz came together in this deeply swinging session recorded for the Pacific Jazz/World Pacific label in 1953. Alto saxophone master Lee Konitz joins with the great Gerry Mulligan on baritone saxophone and legendary trumpeter Chet Baker on a half-live, half-studio program of standards along with one Mulligan original. The group is supported by bassists Carson Smith and Joe Mondragon with Larry Bunker on drums for this spontaneous and inventive jazz treasure.

Lee Konitz, alto saxophone
Gary Mulligan, baritone saxophone
Carson Smith / Joe Mondragon, bass
Larry Bunker, drums
Chet Baker, trumpet

  1. I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
  2. Sextet
  3. Lover Man
  4. Lady Be Good
  5. Carson City Stage
  6. Cherry
  7. Makin’ Whoopee
  8. Motel

Out of stock

SKU: 602435268194 Categories: , , ,