Joe Lovano – Trio Fascination: Edition One: Blue Note Tone Poet Series (180g Vinyl 2LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl 2LP of Joe Lovano’s Trio Fascination: Edition One. Mastered From the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley.

The acclaimed Cleveland-born saxophonist Joe Lovano came to Blue Note Records in 1990 and over the next 25 years became one of the most recorded artists in the label’s history, building a formidable and far-ranging catalog that explored the full breadth of his artistry. Recorded in September 1997, Trio Fascination: Edition One stands out as one of the more remarkable sessions in Lovano’s discography with the saxophonist joining forces with two all-time legends—bassist Dave Holland and drummer Elvin Jones—in a spare trio setting that finds these three masters conversing freely. Throughout Lovano can be heard on tenor, soprano, alto, and straight alto saxophones, as well as alto clarinet, and the set consists of nine creative Lovano originals including the pulsing opener “New York Fascination,” the spacious “Sanctuary Park,” the Sam Rivers tribute “Studio Rivbea,” and a stunning rendition of the lone standard “Ghost of a Chance.” This Tone Poet Vinyl Edition marks the album’s first-ever release on vinyl.

Extreme attention to detail has been paid to getting these right in every conceivable way, from the jacket graphics and printing quality to superior LP mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray to superb 180g audiophile LP pressings by Record Technology Inc. Every aspect of these Tone Poet releases is done to the highest possible standard. It means that you will never find a superior version. This is IT.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.

Joe Lovano, saxophone, clarinet
Dave Holland, bass
Elvin Jones, drums

Side A:

  1. New York Fascination
  2. Sanctuary Park
  3. Eternal Joy

Side B:

  1. Ghost Of A Chance
  2. Studio Rivbea
  3. Cymbalism

Side C:

  1. Impressionistic
  2. Villa Paradiso

Side D:

  1. 4 On The Floor
  2. Days Of Yore

Out of stock

SKU: 602445262205 Categories: , , ,