Hank Mobley – Curtain Call: Blue Note Tone Poet Series (180g Vinyl LP)

$68.00 $55.00

All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Hank Mobley’s Curtain Call Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley

It’s a sign of the sheer volume of top-notch hard bop that Blue Note was recording in the 1950s-60s that a supremely swinging date like Hank Mobley’s 1957 album Curtain Call would sit in the vaults unreleased until 1984. Mobley himself was in the middle of a particularly prolific streak that year with the tenor saxophonist recording 6 sessions for Blue Note in 1957 alone. This highly-enjoyable 6-song set includes 4 Mobley originals including the extended opener “Don’t Get To Hip,” the hard-charging title track, and the bright swing of “The Mobe” along with 2 standards (“Deep In A Dream” and “My Reverie”) performed by a quintet with Mobley joined by Kenny Dorham on trumpet, Sonny Clark on piano, Jimmy Rowser on bass, and Art Taylor on drums.

Hank Mobley, tenor saxophone
Kenny Dorham, trumpet
Sonny Clark, piano
Jimmy Rowser, bass
Art Taylor, drums

• Blue Note Tone Poet Series
• Curated by Music Matters co-founder Joe Harley
• Audiophile-quality 180g vinyl LP
• All-analog mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray
• Manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated
• Deluxe gatefold jacket packaging

  1. Don’t Get Too Hip
  2. Curtain Call
  3. Deep In A Dream
  4. The Mobe
  5. My Reverie
  6. On The Bright Side

In stock

SKU: 602435519807 Categories: , , , ,