Coleman Hawkins – Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster: 2023 (AS Verve Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes, Pressed at QRP, and Housed in Stoughton Gatefold Jacket

Many saxophonists have come close, but none have quite equaled the fullness of tone, enveloping spirit, or sense of uncompromised soul that jazz giants Coleman Hawkins and Ben Webster produced on their instruments. This 1957 Verve date with Norman Granz behind the boards finds the two tenors matching musical wits with iconic accompaniment from Herb Ellis (guitar), Ray Brown (bass), Oscar Peterson (piano) and Alvin Stoller (drums). From Hawkins’ screaming solo on opener “Blues for Yolanda,” to the saxophone greats’ beautiful give and take on the ballads “It Never Entered My Mind” and “Prisoner of Love” to the melodic toe tappers “You’d be So Nice to Come Home To” and “Tangerine,” this classic 7-song set is warm, lyrical and altogether essential!

Coleman Hawkins, tenor saxophone
Ben Webster, tenor saxophone
Ray Brown, bass
Herb Ellis, guitar
Oscar Peterson, piano
Alvin Stoller, drums

  1. Blues For Yolande
  2. It Never Entered My Mind
  3. Rosita
  4. You’d Be Nice To Come Home To
  5. Prisoner Of Love
  6. Tangerine
  7. Shine On Harvest Moon

Out of stock