Chick Corea – Now He Sings, Now He Sobs : Blue Note Tone Poet Series


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Chick Corea’s Now He Sings, Now He Sobs Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray, Pressed at RTI: Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley

Produced and hand-picked for release by Music Matters co-founder Joe Harleymastered from the original master tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and housed in a deluxe gatefold jacketChick Corea‘s brilliant trio album from 1968, Now He Sings, Now He Sobs receives nonpareil audiophile treatment on this must-own all-analog reissue. You’ll hear front-to-back dynamics. Hyper-realistic highs. Superb balance. Stellar linearity. Luscious tones. Deep, taut bass. Grooves that seemingly grab you by the hand. The sensation of actually being present at the sessions. Dead-quiet LP surfaces. A gatefold jacket that will mesmerize your visual senses.

In terms of the compositions, one listen will tell you why the Blue Note record is held in the same kind of rarefied esteem as classic Bill Evans trio sessions. The exquisite interplay between Corea, Czech bassist Miroslav Vitous, and drummer Roy Haynes make it abundantly clear why this album has achieved such legendary status among jazz piano trio recordings. Now He Sings, Now He Sobs features a program of Corea compositions, including the first recording of “Matrix.”

Most importantly, this is vinyl as vinyl is supposed to sound (and look). If you’re familiar with Music Matters’ now-iconic Blue Note reissues or the infallible work of producer Joe Harley, you’ll know you cannot pass this up. And if you’re coming to them for the first time, prepare yourself for sheer sonic and musical bliss!

• Blue Note Tone Poet Series
• Curated by Music Matters co-founder Joe Harley
• Audiophile-quality 180g vinyl LP
• Mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray
• Pressed by Record Technology Inc
• Deluxe gatefold jacket packaging


  1. Steps – What Was
  2. Matrix
  3. Now He Sings, Now He Sobs
  4. Now He Beats The Drum, Now He Stops
  5. The Law Of Falling And Catching Up

Out of stock

SKU: 602577199820 Categories: , , ,