Bud Powell – Time Waits: The Amazing Bud Powell: Blue Note Classic Vinyl (180g Vinyl LP)


In the late 1940s, Blue Note founder Alfred Lion became enthralled with the modern sounds of bebop and began recording several of the new music’s innovators including the brilliant pianist Bud Powell, who Lion dubbed The Amazing Bud Powell. Powell could be erratic, but as a producer Lion always seemed to draw the best out of the piano master, and cut numerous classic sides including “Un Poco Loco” and “Bouncing with Bud.” The fourth volume of The Amazing Bud Powell series, titled Time Waits, was recorded in 1958 and found Powell in particularly fine form on an ebullient set of his original tunes including “Buster Rides Again,” “Monopoly,” and “John’s Abbey.” Powell’s playing is endlessly inventive as he takes flight in a trio setting with bassist Sam Jones and Philly Joe Jones, who elevates the session with some of his most inspired drumming on record.

Bud Powell, piano
Sam Jones, bass
‘Philly’ Joe Jones, drums

• Blue Note Classic Vinyl Reissue Series
• All analog 180g vinyl LP
• Mastered by Kevin Gray directly from the original master tapes
• Manufactured at Optimal in Germany
• Standard packaging

  1. Buster Rides Again
  2. Sub City
  3. Time Waits
  4. Marmalade
  5. Monopoly
  6. John’s Abbey
  7. Dry Soul
  8. Sub City (Alternate Take)

In stock

SKU: 602445082162 Categories: , , ,