Booker Ervin – Tex Book Tenor: Blue Note Tone Poet Series (180g Vinyl LP)


All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Booker Ervin’s Tex Book Tenor. Mastered From the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley.

Booker Ervin cut two stellar Blue Note records in the late-60s, including Tex Book Tenor, which had to wait until 2005 for its first release. With a quintet featuring Woody Shaw, Kenny Barron, Jan Arnet and Billy Higgins, the Texas-born saxophonist slices through a set of captivating bandmember originals. This stereo Blue Note Tone Poet Series was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.

Booker Ervin, saxophone
Woody Shaw, trumpet
Kenny Barron, piano
Jan Arnet, bass
Billy Higgins, drums

Side A:

  1. Gichi
  2. Den Tex
  3. In A Capricornian Way

Side B:

  1. Lynn’s Tune
  2. 204

In stock

SKU: 602445852246 Categories: , , , ,