Vanessa Fernandez – I Want You (180g 45rpm Vinyl 2LP)


Vanessa Fernandez’s third session for Groove Note, I Want You sees the Singapore songstress return to the ’70s R&B classics and modern soul catalogue (Curtis Mayfield, Marvin Gaye, Hall & Oates, Gloria Gayner, Michael Jackson) that was delivered so very well on her 2014 label debut Use Me but with the addition of more recent hits from the likes of Radiohead, Amy Winehouse and Rag & Bone Man.

Tim Pierce handled all the arrangements as on her first two albums. Musicians include former Michael Jackson bassist Alex Al, current Jimmy Kimmel show band keyboardist Jeff Babko, top LA-based horn player Ricky Woodard as well as returning musicians from 2016’s When The Levee Breaks. Needless to say, Vanessa and the band deliver some truly exceptional performances here with stunning all analogue sonics!

The album was recorded at United (former Oceanway) in Hollywood and mixed at Sphere in Burbank. All tracking and mixing was done 100% all analogue. Michael C Ross recorded the album in United Studio B over four days on a 24 track Studer using 2 inch analogue tape running at 30 ips. The final 30 ips 1/4 inch stereo master was used by Bernie Grundman to cut this audiophile quality 180g 45 rpm vinyl 2LP edition.

Vanessa Fernandez, vocals
Tim Pierce, guitars, arrangements
Alex Al, bass
Victor Indrizzo, drums
Jeff Babko, keyboards
Luis Conte, percussion
Charlie Bisharat, violin
Ricky Woodard, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone

• Audiophile 180g 45rpm vinyl 2LP
• Cut by Bernie Grundman on all analogue tube cutting system using all upgraded and modified vintage Sculley cutting lathes
• Mastered directly from the original 30 ips 1/4 inch analogue master


  1. Right On For The Darkness
  2. I Want You
  3. Human
  4. Every Time You Go Away
  5. Hey Stranger (Album Mix)
  6. Angel Dust


  1. Tripping Out
  2. Billie Jean
  3. Creep
  4. I Will Survive!
  5. Back To Black
  6. Hey Stranger (Alternate Mix)

Out of stock

SKU: 660318120014 Categories: , ,