Lady A – What A Song Can Do (Vinyl 2LP)


Working again with producer Dann Huff, the 14 tracks on Lady A’s new album, What A Song Can Do retain the rootsy pop flavor and exquisite harmonies fans have come to love from Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott. This is in effect an expanded version of What a Song Can Do (Chapter One), which came out with seven songs in June 2021.

“We’ve rediscovered our purpose, and it’s to entertain and spread a positive message. I really truly believe that,” Kelley said. “I want our legacy to be songs that make people feel good. But, I also think there’s more to our story that hasn’t been written yet.” This is the band’s first release under the Lady A moniker instead of Lady Antebellum. The trio changed its name last year in the wake of the murder of George Floyd and the Black Lives Matter movement. “Antebellum” was considered an ode to the South.

The lead single, “Like a Lady,” stresses self-acceptance and female empowerment. Thomas Rhett, Darius Rucker and tour mate Carly Pearce offer support in the trio’s twang-rocking first true collaboration, “Friends Don’t Let Friends.” Haywood steps to the mic for his first-ever lead vocal on the devoted “Working On This Love,” an acoustic poem written solo for his wife, Kelli. The 14-track project ends on with the romantic “Swore I Was Leaving,” which was the first song the trio wrote for the project.

1. Talk Of This Town
2. What A Song Can Do
3. Like A Lady
4. Things He Handed Down
5. Fire
6. Chance Of Rain
7. Worship What I Hate
8. Where Would I Be
9. Friends Don’t Let Friends
10. In Waves
11. You Keep Thinking That
12. Be That For You
13. Workin’ On This Love
14. Swore I Was Leaving

Out of stock

SKU: 843930065417 Categories: , ,