Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – The Message (Expanded Vinyl 2LP)


The debut studio album of American hip hop group Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, originally released in October 1982 on Sugar Hill Records and featuring arguably the most influential hip-hop single of all time in “The Message”, together with “Scorpio” – one of the greatest electro recordings ever produced.

A gritty, plain-spoken and vividly cinematic portrait of black street life in New York circa ‘82 and a fascinating time capsule of rap’s early attempts with the album format – this album earned respect on its own terms.

Out of print for many years, we are very pleased to make this iconic and revered hip-hop album available again for fans old and new to enjoy.

The title track, seen as an offshoot of funk upon its release, has since been credited with re-calibrating the direction of hip hop and was hailed the Number 1 greatest hip hop song of all time by Rolling Stone magazine. This limited expanded edition features bonus tracks and instrumentals pressed on 180g Sugar Hill Blue vinyl and also commemorates the 40th Anniversary of Sugarhill Records.

  • 1.She’s Fresh
  • 2.It’s Nasty (Genius of Love)
  • 3.Scorpio
  • 4.It’s a Shame (Mt. Airy Groove)
  • 5.Dreamin’
  • 6.You Are
  • 7.The Message
  • 8.The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel
  • 9.The Message (instrumental)
  • 10.New York, New York (extended version)
  • 11.Message II (Survival)
  • 13.The Birthday Party
  • 14.Freedom (instrumental)

Out of stock

SKU: 4050538834949 Categories: , , ,