Donny Hathaway – Everything Is Everything (Speakers Corner Vinyl LP)


The very first few bars of the opening number of Donny Hathaway’s 1970 LP Everything Is Everything promises a program in which the instrumental and human voices are on a par. Just listen to the impressively saturate sound and clear phrasing of the wind instruments which range from discreet to brassy. Spiced with peppery volleys on the clavinet, Hathaway’s soul sound breaks new ground with harmonically fresh blues (“I Believe To My Soul”), soars passionately upwards (“Misty”) and plows through a percussive, dry and cheerful confusion in “Sugar Lee.”

Every single arrangement profits to the full from the excellence of the musicians and each number is therefore quite unique. Softly cushioned, melodious togetherness (“Trying’ Times”) seems just as natural as prayer-like gospel song (“Thank You Master For My Soul”), which ventures into the realms of free jazz harmonies to the glory of God. To round off the album we once again hear Hathaway’s voice, smooth and soaring, right up into the top register, in the short number “A Dream” – an apt description of the whole album.

This Speakers Corner 180g vinyl LP reissue was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

  1. Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)
  2. Je Vous Aime (I Love You)
  3. I Believe To My Soul
  4. Misty
  5. Sugar Lee
  6. Tryin’ Times
  7. Thank You Master (For My Soul)
  8. The Ghetto
  9. To Be Young, Gifted And Black

Out of stock