Buddy Guy and Junior Wells – Play The Blues (Speakers Corner Vinyl LP)


180g Vinyl LP Reissue Remastered Using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes Through to the Cutting Head

Buddy Guy collaborated a number of times with the equally-legendary Junior Wells, but 1972’s Buddy Guy & Junior Wells Play the Blues was particularly notable for a couple of different reasons. The process of recording this LP started in Miami in 1970, and although it was a project that also involved Eric Clapton, Tom Dowd and Ahmet Ertegun, the sessions ultimately came to a close with only eight tracks recorded. It would be another two years before the album was finished by adding two more tracks, but this time around Guy and Wells were working with The J. Geils Band.

Featuring Eric Clapton, Dr. John, and members of the J. Geils BandPlay the Blues stands as one of the greatest albums ever cut by Chicago electric blues legend Buddy Guy and his studio and stage cohort Junior Wells. This Speakers Corner 180g vinyl LP reissue was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

Junior Wells (vocals, harmonica)
Buddy Guy (vocals, guitar)
A.C. Reed (tenor saxophone)
Dr. John / Seth Justman (piano)
J. Geils, Eric Clapton (guitar)
Carl Dean Radle / Danny Klein / Leroy Stewart (bass)
Jim Gordon / Roosevelt Shaw / Stephen Bladd (drums)

  1. A Man Of Many Words
  2. My Baby Left Me (She Left Me A Mule To Ride)
  3. Come On In This House / Have Mercy Baby
  4. T-Bone Shuffle
  5. A Poor Man’s Plea
  6. Messin’ With The Kid
  7. This Old Fool
  8. I Don’t Know
  9. Bad Bad Whiskey
  10. Honeydripper

In stock