Bremer/McCoy – Utopia (Vinyl LP)


Bremer/McCoy is a Danish duo of Jonathan Bremer on acoustic bass and Morten McCoy on the keyboards and tape delay. While the two started as a reggae group (believe it or not), their sound has transformed into an amorphous mix of jazz, dub, and neo-classical. “Most of our songs have lyrics even though they are instrumental. Although some of our tunes are more conceptual and dub-like, most of our tunes are songs with clear melodies.”

Utopia is a tale of juxtaposition. On one hand, the music paints an idyllic and dynamic soundscape. Lead single “Højder” springs with bright, twinkling keys – part Wurlitzer, part piano – balanced by a warm, sauntering bassline that has the feel of a tango. Others, like “Tusmørke” lean more into the jazz lane, a sultry nighttime tune sizzling with violins and dubbed out keys. On the other hand, Utopia was by no means made under ideal circumstances. The duo battled constant technical difficulties – exploding reel-to-reel machines, a mixing board that constantly broke down – as if haunted by the malfunctioning gear. Bremer was dealing with personal issues at home that made recording a struggle at times.

Utopia encapsulates what Bremer/McCoy do best: kaleidoscopic instrumental music, touching a multiverse of genre that evokes passion and promotes contemplation.

  1. Åben bog
  2. Højder
  3. Bjerget
  4. Tusmørke
  5. Salme
  6. Vega
  7. Solopgang
  8. Vågner
  9. Op
  10. Salig
  11. Dråber
  12. Determination

Out of stock

SKU: 680899009515 Categories: , ,